Read with PRIDE

Posted on June 22, 2020 in Books, Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult with tags LGBTQ+, Pride

 

This month we are celebrating Pride, and we’re delighted to be publishing a hoard of wonderful new books that celebrate LGBTQ+ stories across time, space and the multiverse itself.

Look out for these brilliant reads coming soon to a bookshop near you!

The Extraordinaires by TJ Klune

TJ Klune’s YA debut is a brilliant and sweet queer coming-of-age story about a fanboy with ADHD and the superheroes he loves. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl and Brandon Sanderson’s Steelheart.

‘I cried, smiled and laughed because that is the Klune effect! This book is full of feelings, rambling, billowing, evil crackling and some posing. The characters are as always so well written and the universe so impossibly real that everything else fades. Reading this book surely is an extraordinary experience!!’

*****
NetGalley Reader Review

 

Girls of Paper and Fire and Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan

If you’ve not yet discovered Natasha Ngan’s mesmerising series, then you’re missing out! Lei is an unforgettable protagonist, who is snatched by royal soldiers to serve as Paper Girl to the king. But instead she falls in love with Wren, another Paper Girl, and together they fight against oppression in a lush, magical world based on the imperial dynasties of China and Japan.

‘Beautiful and heart-breaking and meaningfulYoung Adult Reads

 ‘A timely reminder that, in the right hands, the fantasy genre has things to say about injustice and abuse of power in the real world’ Guardian

 

The Midnight Lie by Marie Rutkoski

Published earlier this year, The Midnight Lie is an epic lesbian romance about learning to free ourselves from the lies others tell us – and the lies we tell ourselves. With rich characterisation, exquisite worldbuilding and a breath-taking adventure with twists aplenty, this book will keep you turning those pages, and leave your heart aching.

‘Lush, romantic, and powerful. Marie Rutkoski spins a sensuous tale about awakening to the truth’ Malinda Lo, author of Ash

 

Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Barshardoust

This captivating and utterly original Persian-inspired fairy tale is about a princess who is cursed to be poisonous to the touch. A thrilling, moving queer romance of what it means to come into one’s own power.

‘Monstrously beautiful and enchanting, Girl, Serpent, Thorn is a fairytale for anyone who has ever feared the poison in their own heart. I loved this queer, subversive, lyrical and deeply affirming book’ Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

 

 

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

We’re overwhelmed with excitement to be publishing this queer science fiction debut, which is both a thrilling cross-dimensional adventure and a powerful examination of identity, privilege, and belonging. A timely and important read, The Space Between Worlds asks the question: what leads someone to thrive in one reality and perish in another?

‘A gritty, riveting, and ultimately hopeful novel about the people, choices, and relationships who make us who we are – in this world, and in those we can only imagine‘ Kameron Hurley, Hugo and Locus award-winning author of The Light Brigade

 

The First Sister by Linden Lewis

 The First Sister is the first book in a new epic, genderqueer space opera, perfect for fans of Pierce Brown’s Red Rising. Linen Lewis’ debut tells the story of a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system.

‘Wonderfully imaginative and gripping – Lewis’s debut sucks you in from the very first scene and keeps you absorbed in a rollercoaster of high-octane action and devastating twists. Her prose is rich and assured; her characters complex and compelling. I couldn’t put it down‘ R.F. Kuang, author of The Poppy War

 

Comments

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.