Our Books: Horror

  • The Dark Net

    The Dark Net

    Benjamin Percy

    The dark net is an online shadowland for criminals to operate anonymously, but when a demonic force begins to hack the minds of its users there is nowhere left to hide. Twelve-year-old Hannah has been fitted with a high-tech prosthetic that restores he …

    MORE
  • Sleeping Beauties

    Sleeping Beauties

    Stephen King, Owen King

    In this spectacular father/son collaboration, Stephen King and Owen King tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men? All around the world, something is happening to women when they fall asleep; …

    MORE
  • The White Road

    The White Road

    Sarah Lotz

    Adrenaline-junky Simon Newman sneaks onto private land to explore a dangerous cave in Wales with a strange man he’s met online. But Simon gets more than he bargained for when the expedition goes horribly wrong. Simon emerges, the only survivor, after a …

    MORE
  • HEX

    HEX

    Thomas Olde Heuvelt

    The incredible, horrifying thriller from Thomas Olde Heuveult, the Hugo award-winning author of ‘The Day The World Turned Upside Down’, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King. Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. …

    MORE
  • Slade House

    Slade House

    David Mitchell

    Prepare to be chilled, electrified and entertained – a gem of a novel from ‘one of the most brilliantly inventive writers of this, or any country’ – Independent Born out of the short story David Mitchell published on Twitter in 2014 and inhabiting the …

    MORE
  • Night Music: Nocturnes Volume 2

    Night Music: Nocturnes Volume 2

    John Connolly

    Fans of  The Book of Lost Things and Nocturnes will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection of short stories of the supernatural from John Connolly. A decade after Nocturnes first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling a …

    MORE
  • The Bazaar of Bad Dreams

    The Bazaar of Bad Dreams

    Stephen King

    In this thrilling collection of twenty stories – some brand new, some published in magazines, all entirely brilliant and assembled in one book for the first time – with a wonderful bonus: in addition to his introduction to the whole collection, King gi …

    MORE
  • Misery

    Misery

    Stephen King

    Misery Chastain was dead. Paul Sheldon had just killed her – with relief, with joy. Misery had made him rich; she was the heroine of a string of bestsellers. And now he wanted to get on to some real writing. That’s when the car accident happened, and h …

    MORE
  • Crooked

    Crooked

    Austin Grossman

    This is the story of the great con game that was the late twentieth century, of American history’s worst presidency, of how I learned to lie. It is not history as you know it. There are at least three sides to this story, and I’m telling both of mine. …

    MORE
  • The Shining

    The Shining

    Stephen King

    Danny is only five years old, but in the words of old Mr Hallorann he is a ‘shiner’, aglow with psychic voltage. When his father becomes caretaker of the Overlook Hotel, Danny’s visions grow out of control. As winter closes in and blizzards cut them of …

    MORE
  • ‘Salem’s Lot

    ‘Salem’s Lot

    Stephen King

    ‘Turn off the television – in fact, why don’t you turn off all the lights except for the one over your favourite chair? – and we’ll talk about vampires here in the dim. I think I can make you believe in them.’ Stephen King, from the Introduction. Salem …

    MORE
  • Pet Sematary

    Pet Sematary

    Stephen King

    The house looked right, felt right to Dr Louis Creed. Rambling, old, unsmart and comfortable. A place where the family could settle; the children grow and play and explore. The rolling hills and meadows of Maine seemed a world away from the fume-choked …

    MORE
  • Carrie

    Carrie

    Stephen King

    An exciting reissue of Stephen King’s debut novel about an outcast teenager with a frightening power which put him on the map and set him on his journey as a household name. Carrie White is no ordinary girl. Carrie White has the gift of telekinesis. To …

    MORE
  • IT

    IT

    Stephen King

    To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live. It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly d …

    MORE
  • Red Moon

    Red Moon

    Benjamin Percy

    They live amongst us. They are your neighbour, your mother, your lover. You think they are safe. They change. Every teenage girl thinks she’s different. When government agents kick down Claire Forrester’s front door and murder her parents, Claire reali …

    MORE
  • The Loney

    The Loney

    Andrew Michael Hurley

    A beautiful, thrilling and unsettling debut novel. If it had another name, I never knew, but the locals called it the Loney – that strange nowhere between the Wyre and the Lune where Hanny and I went every Easter time with Mummer, Farther, Mr and Mrs B …

    MORE
  • The Dead Lands

    The Dead Lands

    Benjamin Percy

    Like Stephen King’s The Stand before it, The Dead Lands is an incredible novel set across the sprawling landscape of a nightmarish post-apocalyptic American West. The world we know is gone, destroyed by a virus that wiped out nearly every human on the …

    MORE
  • Revival

    Revival

    Stephen King

    A spectacularly dark and electrifying novel about addiction, religion, music and what might exist on the other side of life. In a small New England town, in the early 60s, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton look …

    MORE
  • Doctor Sleep

    Doctor Sleep

    Stephen King

    Stephen King returns to the characters and territory of one of his most popular novels ever, The Shining.  An epic war between good and evil, a gory, glorious story that will thrill the millions of hyper-devoted readers of The Shining and wildly satisf …

    MORE
  • Brood

    Brood

    The spine-chilling follow-up to Breed, the first horror novel by bestselling author Scott Spencer, writing as Chase Novak. They should never have been born… Adam and Alice Twisden are not ordinary children. Along with hundreds of other rich and despe …

    MORE
  • The Vorrh

    The Vorrh

    Brian Catling

    In the tradition of China Miéville, Michael Moorcock and Alasdair Gray, B. Catling’s The Vorrh is literary dark fantasy which wilfully ignores boundaries, crossing over into surrealism, magic-realism, horror and steampunk. In B. Catling’s twisting, poe …

    MORE
  • Confessions

    Confessions

    Kanae Minato

    When Yuko Moriguchi’s four-year-old daughter died in the middle school where she teaches, everyone thought it was a tragic accident. It’s the last day of term, and Yuko’s last day at work. She tells her students that she has resigned because of what ha …

    MORE
  • Wolf in Winter

    Wolf in Winter

    John Connolly

    Prosperous, and the secret that it hides beneath its ruins . . . The community of Prosperous, Maine has always thrived when others have suffered. Its inhabitants are wealthy, its children’s future secure. It shuns outsiders. It guards its own. And at t …

    MORE
  • A Love Like Blood

    A Love Like Blood

    Marcus Sedgwick

    I’ve chased him for over twenty years, and across countless miles, and though often I was running, there have been many times when I could do nothing but sit and wait. Now I am only desperate for it to be finished. In 1944, just days after the liberati …

    MORE
  • Pandemic

    Pandemic

    Scott Sigler

    The alien intelligence that unleashed two horrific assaults on humanity has been destroyed. But before it was brought down in flames, it launched one last payload – a tiny soda-can-sized canister filled with germs engineered to wreak new forms of havoc …

    MORE
  • The Three

    The Three

    Sarah Lotz

    Lost meets The Passage in this incredible new thriller, for all fans of The Shining Girls and Stephen King. They’re here … The boy. The boy watch the boy watch the dead people oh Lordy there’s so many … They’re coming for me now. We’re all going so …

    MORE
  • Day Four

    Day Four

    Sarah Lotz

    Sarah Lotz’s extraordinary, unmissable follow-up to the book that made headlines around the world, The Three – perfect for fans of The Shining Girls, The Passage and Lost. Four days into a five day singles cruise on the Gulf of Mexico, the ageing ship …

    MORE
  • Wolf Winter

    Wolf Winter

    Cecilia Ekbäck

    A brilliantly written and gripping historical Nordic Noir thriller with all the intrigue and atmosphere of Burial Rites, the pent-up passion of The Piano and the suspense of The Tenderness of Wolves. There are six homesteads on Blackåsen Mountain. A da …

    MORE