Our Books: Science Fiction

  • Dune Messiah

    Dune Messiah

    Frank Herbert

    DUNE MESSIAH: the extraordinary sequel to Dune, the greatest science fiction novel of all time. Twelve years after his victory over House Harkonnen, Paul Atreides rules as emperor from the desert planet Arrakis – but his victory has had profound conseq …

    MORE
  • Spaceman of Bohemia

    Spaceman of Bohemia

    Jaroslav Kalfar

    A dazzling, ambitious, original, funny literary debut spanning duplicitous love, family secrets, political intrigue, a historical riddle and a cloud of spacedust over Venus. Set in the near-distant future, Spaceman follows a Czech astronaut as he launc …

    MORE
  • Dark Made Dawn

    Dark Made Dawn

    James P. Smythe

    The extraordinary conclusion to the epic Australia Trilogy by JP Smythe, whom the Guardian calls ‘a young writer with a preternaturally powerful and distinctive voice.’ There was one truth on Australia, the prison ship on which Chan was born and raised …

    MORE
  • A Closed and Common Orbit

    A Closed and Common Orbit

    Becky Chambers

    The extraordinary new novel by Becky Chambers, author of The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, called by Ann Leckie ‘great fun!’ Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut …

    MORE
  • Sockpuppet

    Sockpuppet

    Matthew Blakstad

    How do you find someone who doesn’t exist? There’s no such person as sic_girl. She’s a fake internet personality Dani Farr designed to win a bet. But she’s just started spilling state secrets. Dani can’t imagine why anyone would hack a bit of code she …

    MORE
  • The Woman Who Died a Lot

    The Woman Who Died a Lot

    Jasper Fforde

    The BookWorld’s leading enforcement officer Thursday Next is four months into an enforced semi-retirement following an assassination attempt. She returns home to Swindon for what you’d expect to be a time of recuperation. If only life were that simple. …

    MORE
  • Under the Dome

    Under the Dome

    Stephen King

    In UNDER THE DOME, King has produced another riveting masterpiece. The end of every chapter hooks you into the next, drawing you inside a psychological drama that is so rich, you don’t read it, you live it. It is the story of the small town of Chester’ …

    MORE
  • Second Lives

    Second Lives

    Scott K. Andrews

    The adventure continues: time is in flux, and only Jana, Dora and Kaz can fix it. But can they trust each other? It began when three people from three different moments in history discovered that they could travel through time when they clasped hands. …

    MORE
  • Morning Star (Red Rising Book 3)

    Morning Star (Red Rising Book 3)

    Pierce Brown

    Darrow is a Helldiver, one of a thousand men and women who live in the vast caves beneath the surface of Mars, generations of people who spend their lives toiling to mine the precious elements that will allow the planet to be terraformed. Just knowing …

    MORE
  • The Woman Who Died a Lot (Thursday Next Book 7)

    The Woman Who Died a Lot (Thursday Next Book 7)

    The seventh Thursday Next novel from Number One bestselling author Jasper Fforde. The BookWorld’s leading enforcement officer Thursday Next is four months into an enforced semi-retirement following an assassination attempt. She returns home to Swindon …

    MORE
  • One of Our Thursdays is Missing (Thursday Next Book 6)

    One of Our Thursdays is Missing (Thursday Next Book 6)

    Jasper Fforde

    Thursday Next returns in her sixth inventive, funny and fantastical adventure  – a Number One bestseller. It is a time of unrest in the BookWorld. Only the diplomatic skills of ace literary detective Thursday Next can avert a devastating genre war. But …

    MORE
  • First Among Sequels (Thursday Next Book 5)

    First Among Sequels (Thursday Next Book 5)

    Jasper Fforde

    Everyone’s favourite Book World heroine, Thursday Next, returns in her fifth adventure – by Number One bestselling author Jasper Fforde. Thursday Next is back. And this time it’s personal . . .Officially, Literary Detective Thursday Next is off the cas …

    MORE
  • Something Rotten (Thursday Next Book 4)

    Something Rotten (Thursday Next Book 4)

    Jasper Fforde

    The Number One bestseller and the fourth Thursday Next adventure. Thursday Next, Head of JurisFiction and ex-SpecOps agent, returns to her native Swindon accompanied by a child of two, a pair of dodos and Hamlet, who is on a fact-finding mission in the …

    MORE
  • The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Book 3)

    The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next Book 3)

    Jasper Fforde

    Winner of the Bollinger Wodehouse Everyman Award for Comic Fiction The third in Jasper Fforde’s phenomenally successful Thursday Next series: into the Bookworld! Leaving Swindon behind her to hide out in the Well of Lost Plots (the place where all fict …

    MORE
  • Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next Book 2)

    Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next Book 2)

    Jasper Fforde

    Jasper Fforde’s hit follow-up to THE EYRE AFFAIR, now available in stunning new jacket style. Thursday Next, literary detective and newlywed is back to embark on an adventure that begins, quite literally on her own doorstep. It seems that Landen, her h …

    MORE
  • The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next Book 1)

    The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next Book 1)

    Jasper Fforde

    There is another 1985, somewhere in the could-have-been, where the Crimean war still rages, dodos are regenerated in home-cloning kits and everyone is deeply disappointed by the ending of ‘Jane Eyre’. In this world there are no jet-liners or computers, …

    MORE
  • Stranger in a Strange Land

    Stranger in a Strange Land

    Robert A. Heinlein

    The original uncut edition of STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND by Hugo Award winner Robert A Heinlein – one of the most beloved, celebrated science-fiction novels of all time. Epic, ambitious and entertaining, STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND caused controversy an …

    MORE
  • The Moon is a Harsh Mistress

    The Moon is a Harsh Mistress

    Robert A. Heinlein

    In 2075, the Moon is no longer a penal colony. But it is still a prison… Life isn’t easy for the political dissidents and convicts who live in the scattered colonies that make up lunar civilisation. Everything is regulated strictly, efficiently and c …

    MORE
  • Starship Troopers

    Starship Troopers

    Robert A. Heinlein

    5,000 years in the future, humanity faces total extermination. Our one defence: highly-trained soldiers who scour the metal-strewn blackness of space to hunt down a terrifying enemy: an insect life-form known only as ‘Bugs.’ This is the story of troope …

    MORE
  • The Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet

    The Long Way To A Small, Angry Planet

    Becky Chambers

    The astonishing self-published debut novel that Tor.com says ‘will restore your faith in science fiction (specifically) and humanity (in general).’    When Rosemary Harper joins the crew of the Wayfarer, she isn’t expecting much. The Wayfarer, a p …

    MORE
  • The 100 (The 100 Book 1)

    The 100 (The 100 Book 1)

    Kass Morgan

    The Hunger Games meets Lost in this spectacular new series. Now a major TV series on E4. No one has set foot on Earth in centuries – until now. Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface …

    MORE
  • Dune

    Dune

    Frank Herbert

    Before The Matrix, before Star Wars, before Ender’s Game and Neuromancer, there was Dune: winner of the prestigious Hugo and Nebula awards, and widely considered one of the greatest science fiction novels ever written. Melange, or ‘spice’, is the most …

    MORE
  • The Chimes

    The Chimes

    Anna Smaill

    ‘The Chimes is a remarkable debut. It’s inventive, beautifully written, and completely absorbing. I highly recommend it.’ Kevin Powers, author of The Yellow Birds A mind-expanding literary debut composed of memory, music and imagination. A boy stands o …

    MORE
  • Golden Son (Red Rising Book 2)

    Golden Son (Red Rising Book 2)

    Pierce Brown

    Ender’s Game meets The Hunger Games in this, the second in an extraordinary trilogy from an incredible new voice. ‘I’m still playing games. This is just the deadliest yet.’ Darrow is a rebel forged by tragedy. For years he and his fellow Reds worked th …

    MORE
  • Day 21 (The 100 Book 2)

    Day 21 (The 100 Book 2)

    Kass Morgan

    Now a major TV series on E4. In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can – together. It’s been 21 day …

    MORE
  • The Book of Phoenix

    The Book of Phoenix

    Nnedi Okorafor

    Spanning contents and centuries, The Book of Phoenix is an epic, incendiary work of magial realism featuring Nnedi Okorafor’s most incredible, unforgettable heroine yet. They call her many things – a research project, a test-subject, a specimen. An abo …

    MORE
  • Zodiac Station

    Zodiac Station

    Tom Harper

    A lone skier, half-dead with cold, emerges out of the deadly cold of the Arctic Circle. He’s nearly frozen to death, and there’s blood on his clothing, and what looks like a bullet hole though his jacket. But he hasn’t been shot… His name is Tom Ande …

    MORE
  • TimeBomb

    TimeBomb

    Scott K. Andrews

    Perfect for fans of Alex Scarrow and Michael Grant, this is the first in an incredible new time travel trilogy by the author of The Afterblight Chronicles. New York City, 2141: Yojana Patel throws herself off a skyscraper, but never hits the ground. Co …

    MORE
  • The Forever Watch

    The Forever Watch

    David Ramirez

    The Noah: a city-sized ship, half-way through an eight-hundred-year voyage to another planet. In a world where deeds, and even thoughts, cannot be kept secret, a man is murdered; his body so ruined that his identity must be established from DNA evidenc …

    MORE
  • Lagoon

    Lagoon

    Nnedi Okorafor

    Three strangers, each isolated by his or her own problems: Adaora, the marine biologist. Anthony, the rapper famous throughout Africa. Agu, the troubled soldier. Wandering Bar Beach in Lagos, Nigeria’s legendary mega-city, they’re more alone than they’ …

    MORE
  • Way Down Dark (Australia Trilogy Book 1)

    Way Down Dark (Australia Trilogy Book 1)

    James P. Smythe

    The first in an extraordinary new YA trilogy by James Smythe. There’s one truth on Australia: you fight or you die. Usually both. Seventeen-year-old Chan’s ancestors left a dying Earth hundreds of years ago, in search of a new home. They never found on …

    MORE
  • Homecoming (The 100 Book 3)

    Homecoming (The 100 Book 3)

    Kass Morgan

    In the thrilling, pulse-pounding conclusion to Kass Morgan’s New York Times bestselling The 100 series, the Hundred face their greatest challenge yet.  Humanity is coming home. Weeks after landing on Earth, the Hundred have managed to create a sense of …

    MORE
  • Red Rising (Red Rising Book 1)

    Red Rising (Red Rising Book 1)

    Pierce Brown

    Ender’s Game meets The Hunger Games in this, the first in an extraordinary trilogy from an incredible new voice. Darrow is a Helldiver, one of a thousand men and women who live in the vast caves beneath the surface of Mars, generations of people who sp …

    MORE